Local News

Vuelta a España favourites loom as Sepp Kuss retains total lead after stage 10 particular person time trial

American rider Sepp Kuss has held onto the general lead of the Vuelta a España regardless of ending thirteenth in a person time trial received by Filippo Ganna. 

Ganna picked up his first win in Spain because the Vuelta returned from a relaxation day to kick off its second week with a 25.8-kilometre race in opposition to the clock in Valladolid.

Ganna, an Italian rider from staff Ineos Grenadiers, averaged 56 kilometres per hour to complete the stage in 27 minutes, 39 seconds.

Time trial world champion Remco Evenepoel of staff Soudal Fast-Step was second, crossing the road 16 seconds behind Ganna.

“To be right here is wonderful,” Ganna stated.

“The course was very nice and we had been additionally fortunate with the climate.”

Kuss, driving for staff Jumbo-Visma, misplaced solely 17 seconds to Marc Soler, who’s second within the total standings.

The hole between the 2 riders was at 26 seconds, with Evenepoel greater than a minute off the lead after transferring to 3rd total.

“I felt surprisingly relaxed,” Kuss stated. “It is solely stage 10 and I knew there’s nonetheless a lot racing to come back and I used to be simply joyful beginning within the purple jersey.

“It is the primary time I’ve began final in a time trial, so it is the primary time no-one passes me in a time trial. I simply tried to maintain it easy, benefit from the day and push as onerous as doable on the pedals.

“It is nonetheless a great benefit, however with what’s to come back, one minute might be misplaced in a single stage and even one climb,”

“There are lovely levels coming and rather a lot can occur.”

Evenepoel was the quickest of the riders contending within the normal classification, however might rue lacking an enormous probability to take day off his largest rivals.

Remco Evenepoel is the reigning world time trial champion, however might solely end second on the stage.(Getty Photos: Alexander Hassenstein)

Final yr’s winner Evenepoel was simply 20 seconds sooner than Primož Roglič., whereas two-time reigning Tour de France champion Jonas Vingegaard misplaced a minute.

Source link

Related Articles

Back to top button